Monday, September 22, 2008

What Sucks…Yankee Stadium Closing

A Mecca of non-suckiness closed last night.

Yankee Stadium, a place where 26 championship banners hang, where Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Whitey Ford and Yogi Berra played, shut it’s doors for good last night after 85 years of greatness.

It’s too depressing to think that this incredible stadium has to be shut down- that there is no way to save it- so, as a public service, and to make everyone feel better, to make it less painful, let’s remember Yankee Stadium this way…

Yankee Stadium, home of such players as Larry Milbourne, Mel Hall and Andy Hawkins, the only man to ever pitch a no-hitter and lose 4 to nothing, is shutting its doors after 85 years of suckiness.

The Stadium, the place where Kevin Brown and Javier Vasquez allowed the Red Sox to win game 7 of the 2004 championship series something like 11 to nothing, the place where legends such as Roy Smalley, Dave LaPoint and Wayne Tolleson roamed freely, will be demolished next year.

To commemorate the occasion, Major League baseball released this all-time lineup, (at least in my lifetime) of Yankees who suck:

1B: Kevin Maas
2B: Enrique Wilson
SS: Bobby Meacham
3B: Dale Berra
LF: Mel Hall
CF: Jerry Mumphrey
RF: Oscar Azocar
C: Chad Moller/ Matt Nokes
DH: Ken Phelps

SP: Carl Pavano
SP: Ed Whitson
SP: Kevin Brown
SP: Randy Johnson
SP: Melido Perez

RP: Steve Howe (Dead)

What Sucks Flash Trivia Question:

Yogi Berra, is the greatest living Yankee, who is the worst living Yankee Stadium?

Answer in next post.

No comments: